You Like Post Please Comment Or +Google and Say Our Advice And Share To Others Person

Current Pulitzer Prizes Winners List

Pulitzer Prizes 2012 Presented
The prestigious Pulitzer Prizes in the field of journalism were presented on April 16, 2012. There were 21 prizes awarded in three categories. Each prize was accompanied by a payment of $ 10,000. The winners list is listed ahead :

Public Service—The Philadelphia Inquirer ‘‘for its exploration of pervasive violence in the city’s schools.”

Breaking News Reporting—The Tuscaloosa News staff ‘‘for its enterprising coverage of a deadly tornado.”

Investigative Reporting—Matt Apuzzo, Adam Goldman, Eileen Sullivan and Chris Hawley of the Associated Press “for their spotlighting of the New York Police Department’s clandestine spying program that monitored daily life in Muslim communities.”

Michael J. Berens and Ken Armstrong of The Seattle Times “for their investigation of how a little known governmental body in Washington State moved vulnerable patients from safer paincontrol medication to methadone.”

Explanatory Reporting—David Kocieniewski of The New York Times “for his lucid series that penetrated a legal thicket to explain how the nation’s wealthiest citizens and corporations often exploited loopholes and avoided taxes.”

Local Reporting—Sara Ganim and members of The Patriot-News Staff, (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania) “for courageously revealing and adeptly covering the explosive Penn State sex scandal.”

National Reporting—David Wood of The Huffington Post “for his riveting exploration of the physical and emotional challenges facing American soldiers severely wounded in Iraq and Afghanistan during a decade of war.”

International Reporting—Jeffrey Gettleman of The New York Times “for his vivid reports, often at personal peril, on famine and conflict in East Africa.”

Feature Writing—Eli Sanders of The Stranger (Seattle) for The Bravest Woman in Seattle, “his haunting story of a woman who survived a brutal attack that took the life of her partner.”

Commentary—Mary Schmich of The Chicago Tribune “for her wide range of down-to-earth columns that reflect the character and capture the culture of her famed city.”

Criticism—Wesley Morris of The Boston Globe “for his smart, inventive film criticism”.

Editorial Writing (No Prize Awarded)
Editorial Cartooning—Matt Wuerker of Politico “for his consistently fresh, funny cartoons, especially memorable for lampooning the partisan conflict that engulfed Washington.”

Breaking News Photography—Massoud Hossaini of Agence France-Presse “for his heartbreaking image of a girl crying in fear after a suicide bomber’s attack at a crowded shrine in Kabul.”

Feature Photography—Craig F. Walker of The Denver Post “for his compassionate chronicle of an honourably discharged veteran, home from Iraq and struggling with a severe case of post-traumatic stress.” extraordinary portrayal of daily life inside the reclusive nation of North Korea.

Letters, Drama and Music
Fiction—No award.
Drama—‘Water by the Spoonful’ by Quiara Alegria Hudes.
History—‘Malcolm X : A Life of Reinvention,’ by the late Manning Marable (Viking).
Biography—‘George F. Kennan : An American Life,’ by John Lewis Gaddis (The Penguin Press).
Poetry—‘Life on Mars’ by Tracy K. Smith (Graywolf Press).
General Non-fiction—‘The Swerve : How the World Became Modern,’ by Stephen Greenblatt (W. W. Norton and Company).
Music—‘Silent Night : Opera in Two Acts’ by Kevin Puts (Aperto Press).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...